2020 Nike Award Winner

2020 Nike Award Winner

Mike Gibson

In 2006, Dave and Yvette Mealman and Morrissey Inc

presented SRS with a Crown trophy which would travel each year to a winning Retriever Trial Team. The Mealmans’ came up with the beautifully named award , “The Nike” in honor of Jerry Day and Nike who on that year crossed the rainbow bridge at a young age. The Nike award has over time been chosen not to the team but to the individual for sportsman’s like excellence. This award is voted on by the competitors that play the game.

This year’s recipient goes to Mike Gibson of Galena, KS

Mike Gibson has been active in the game of retrievers since the 1990’s. Mike ran his first ever Amateur-only SRS event near Mayflower, AR, in 2008 coming in 4th place and we believe he was hooked. Mike has been fortunate enough to be the top-finishing Crown amateur in 2009 with ShayD and 2015 with Jeter and taking the newly formed SRS Crown Champion Amateur title with Trigg in 2019. Mike resides on the SRS rules committee and this year volunteered to be our “Hunting Buddy” at the line at the SRSUniversity event.

Its our pleasure to present the Nike award to Mike Gibson.